5 Stars to “THE BEAST OF TALESEND” by Kyle Robert Shultz

posted in: About the Books | 0

Private eye Nick Beasley lives in a world where fairy tales ended a long time ago – where zeppelins now soar the skies instead of dragons, and where the first automobiles have taken the place of flying carpets. He’s made a name for himself across the Afterlands by debunking fake magicians and exposing fraudulent monsters. This is the modern age, after all. Magic and monsters are long gone.

At least, that’s what Nick believes. Until he gets magically transformed into a monster, that is.

The only person who may be able to help Nick is Lady Cordelia Beaumont, one of the last enchantresses in the Afterlands. But in order for her to cure him, they’ll have to retrieve a powerful artifact from a ruthless crime lord – who is also Cordelia’s father.

The fate of the Afterlands lies in the hands of a runaway enchantress and a monstrous ex-detective. What could possibly go wrong?

Perfect for fans of Doctor Who, Once Upon A Time, or The Dresden Files, the Beaumont and Beasley series features high adventure in a world where fairy tales are history.

 

Kyle Robert Shultz is catapulting into my Top 10 Most Fun Authors to Read list.

The Beast of Talesend is brilliant fairy tale satire where the real world and the magical crunch into each other with exciting action and splendidly witty dialogue. The narrative voice has me laughing out loud on every page.

I listened on the audio book (narrated brilliantly by Richard “Spanners” Ready, who does a lovely array of voices and accents), but I have a feeling that even reading the book, I would have sensed the impeccable timing of pauses and comebacks, witticisms and whimpers. I am SO GLAD this is the beginning of a series because I definitely want more of this charming and unique pair of main characters. Lady Cordelia Beaumont is spunky and unpredictable, and Nick Beasley has a wonderful time playing with irony. No spoilers here, but Nick ends the story as an even more fascinating hero than he began.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.